00  BC Lymphedema Association


These are general descriptions only of these new committees.  Once volunteers have been recruited and the groups begin to meet on a regular basis, they will develop their own mandates, goals, and sub-committee structures.  All Committee Chairs will ensure that their group complies with the legal and financial responsibilities of a BC Society and a registered charity and with the mission and vision of the BC Lymphedema Association.


These will be special committees that are formed for a specific task or objective, and then dissolved after the completion the task or achievement of the objective.

HEALTHCARE ADVISORY - Chair: vacant, members:  Janet Sprague

Our Healthcare Advisory Committee is a group of individuals who have offered their expertise in their particular field of knowledge to help BCLA.  They are welcome to come to Board meetings, but are not expected to, nor do they have any governing responsibilities/liability or voting privileges.  They may provide information, resources, or prestige to the organization.

They provide current health information for the newsletter, website and brochure by sourcing out evidence-based health information for the management of lymphedematous disorders.  They review current practices and advise regarding new approaches to the care and management of lymphedematous disorders.  They educate the patient/family, health care professionals and the community in the management of lymphedematous disorders.  This is to include prevention, active treatment, long-term care, and diagnosis, as appropriate.


EXECUTIVE - Chair: Christine Chandler.

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Board members that hold current executive positions, including President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer.                             The Past-President is welcome to attend to Executive Committee matters at their own discretion.  This committee determines governance guidelines and protocols and prepares the Annual General Meeting to fulfill requirements of Constitution & Bylaws.



Possible Sub-Committees – Grants, Membership, Special Events

This committee provides the direction for all revenue-producing aspects of BCLA, which may include membership drives, donation campaigns, special events, and grant writing.  They will take the lead and work in tandem with the Marketing & Communications Committee to create the upcoming launch.  They work in cooperation with the Finance Committee to determine the budgetary needs of the organization and do what’s necessary to provide the required revenue.


Social Media:  Gail Reichert, Janine Leitch & Sharla Walkey.

Newsletter: Christine Chandler

Website: Sharon Johnson, Administrator. 

The Marketing & Communications Committee assists the organization in the creation of tools in reaching out to lymphedema stakeholders with a quality and sound message.  Sub-committees may be formed to produce the quarterly newsletter and to manage the website.  They work in cooperation with the Fundraising & Development Committee, providing the promotional materials to assist them in their revenue-producing efforts and with the upcoming launch.

PROGRAM -Chair: Vacant

Possible Sub-Committees – Advocacy, Education, Volunteers

As the organization grows, we will begin to learn the needs of our membership and begin to develop programs to assist them in delivering our vision.  This committee will be concerned with matters of advocacy, support, and education.  They will liaise with the Marketing & Communications Committee to assist with providing promotional and educational materials to the public to enhance knowledge of lymphedema.  They will also foster and manage volunteerism.


© 2017 BC Lymphedema Association. |  DISCLAIMER                                                                        BCLA logo designed by RA Design

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software